Ok

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services. En savoir plus.

L'Ecosse en vue

And, in fact, she cantered up to the top a gentle hill, commanding an extensive prospect. Casting her eyes around, to see that no one was near us, she drew up her horse beneath a few birch-trees, which screened us from the rest of the hunting-field, – "Do you see yon peaked, brown, heathy hill, having something like a whitish speck upon the side?"
"Terminating that long ridge of broken moorish uplands? – I see  it distinctly."
"That whitish speck is a rock called Hawkesmore Crag, and Hawkesmore Crag is in Scotland."
"Indeed? I did not think we had been so near Scotland."
"It is so, I assure you, and your horse will carry you there in two hours."
"I shall hardly give him the trouble; why, the distance must be eighteen miles as the crow flies."
"You may have my mare, if you think her less blown – I say, that in two hours you may be in Scotland."
"And I say, that I have so little desire to be there, that if my horse's head were over the Border, I would not give his tail the trouble of following. What should I do in Scotland?"
"Provide for your safety, if I must speak plainly. Do you understand me now, Mr. Frank?"

(Commencé Rob Roy de Walter Scott – je ne sais pas si j'irai jusqu'au bout mais je ne boude pas mon plaisir à la lecture de cette scène de panorama, au chapitre 7.)

Les commentaires sont fermés.