Ok

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services. En savoir plus.

Mrs Crupp

Mrs Crupp, la logeuse de David Copperfield, est atteinte d'un mal chronique :

At about this time, I made three discoveries: first, that Mrs Crupp was a martyr to a curious disorder called "the spazzums," which was generally accompanied with inflammation of the nose, and required to be constantly treated with peppermint; secondly, that something peculiar in the temperature of my pantry, made the brandy bottles burst; thirdly, that I was alone in the world, and much given to record that circumstance in fragments of English versification.

De même que la maladie de Mrs Crupp a deux noms, il y a deux médicaments pour la traiter, le premier d'une complexité incroyable, le second tout simple :

She came up to me one evening (...) to ask (...) if I could oblige her with a little tincture of cardanums mixed with rhubarb, and flavoured with seven drops of the essence of cloves, which was the best remedy for her complaint;--or, if I had not such a thing by me, with a little brandy, which was the next best.

Les commentaires sont fermés.